PVS Image slow to boot – “Applying Security Policy to the System”


Environment

Citrix Provisioning Server 6.1

Citrix XenApp 6.5

Windows Server 2008 R2 (XenApp Servers and Domain Controllers)

Issue:

When the server is starting up it hangs on “Applying Security Policy to the System” for a long period of time before continue to the server logon screen.

Resolution:

This fix resolved it for me

You must change the following file:

  • C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v2.0.50727\aspnet.config

with

<configuration>
	<runtime>
		<generatePublisherEvidence enabled="false"/>
	</runtime>
</configuration>
4 Responses to PVS Image slow to boot – “Applying Security Policy to the System”

  1. Shawn Sloan says:

    I have tried this with no change in the issue. Any other recommendations? 🙂

  2. Jeff Hayes says:

    There is most likely one GPO that is causing the slowness on this server. I just went through several tests… I created a new OU, blocked all Inheritance, moved the machine account into this OU and rebooted it. Then I applied one GPO at a time until I found the problem policy.

    Only problem I have now is I’m not sure what I want to do with that policy. Best practices from what I’ve read for PVS targets is to Block All Inheritance and only apply the policies you want to apply.

  3. Jeff Hayes says:

    The key point I just found out too is this is only for Provisioned images. We have non-provisioned servers that have this same policy attached to them that was causing the problems and it handled them without a problem very very quickly.

  4. Manny says:

    Is this supposed to be applied on the PVS server on target.

Leave a Reply

